The Azores archipelago consists of nine major islands, belonging to three main groups; the western group with Flores and Corvo islands, the central group with Graciosa, Terceira, São Jorge, Pico and Faial islands, and the eastern group with São Miguel and Santa Maria islands. Through the archipelago we can encounter 38 coastal marine protected areas (MPAs).

Most of the MPAs were established to prevent overexploitation of resources, thus most of them only allow sustainable fishing activities. Four however, are under the highest level of protection not allowing any sort of fishing activity. This constitutes a unique opportunity for you to observe and explore the undisturbed landscapes in this magnificent underwater world!